The daily briefing · 25 September 2026

AI moves into editing, phone calls and team conversations

Restricted new tools from Google and Ando, plus dated catch-ups on Runway, Affinity, GPT-6 and robot learning.

8 developments2 min brief · 3 min full readSources linked throughout

Partial research for September 25, Europe/Berlin. With no completed prior cutoff, we assumed September 24 at 14:26 CEST to September 25 at 14:26 CEST. Date-only sources cannot be placed precisely within that window. A partial September 11–25 gap scan adds labelled catch-ups; the Call for Me guide uses current documentation. X originals and several wider leads remain unverified. No complete research cutoff advances.

Editorial paper collage: ai meets the edit.
AI Daywire · AI-assisted editorial illustration

Today’s selection focuses on where AI fits into existing work—and the access rules that determine who can actually use it. New photo and team tools sit alongside missed creative releases, model access and a robotics result with clear limits.

Catch-up: Runway brings generation and restyling into DaVinci Resolve Runway’s September 23 plugin puts image/video generation and clip restyling inside DaVinci Resolve. The download is free on macOS and Windows, but requires Resolve Studio 19 or later; generation needs a paid Runway plan and uses its credits. [S1]

Google Photos expands wardrobe access across Android and iOS Google’s September 24 update says Photos wardrobe is available to eligible Android and iOS users in the US, India and Brazil. It catalogs clothing from photos for virtual styling and try-on. Separately, Photos actions in Gemini Spark require an eligible Google AI Pro or Ultra subscription in the US. [S2]

Ando announces a workspace for people and agents, with access by waitlist Ando announced $20 million in seed funding on September 24 for team messaging that gives AI agents identities, permissions and shared context. It says teams can bring agents from different providers into conversations. The public site still directs new users to a waitlist. [S3][S4]

Guide: check the limits before letting Gemini call a business Documentation-based; not hands-on tested. Gemini’s Call for Me is rolling out to US adults with a Pixel 11, US SIM, English device language, Google AI subscription, latest Gemini app and Phone by Google public beta. It calls US numbers from your phone, with carrier charges, AI disclosure and monitoring controls; emergency calls and payments are unsupported. [S5]

Catch-up: Gemini 3.8 TTS adds voice direction, with regional replication limits Google’s September 23 Gemini 3.8 Flash and Flash-Lite TTS rollout adds line-by-line voice direction through the Gemini API and AI Studio. Enterprise API access and voice remixing are still coming. AI Studio voice replication excludes Illinois, Texas, the EEA, UK, Switzerland and India. [S6]

Catch-up: Affinity adds scripting, a Claude connector and AI photo tools Affinity’s September 15 update adds scripts that span vector, pixel and layout work, plus a Claude connector to help create reusable automation. It also adds AI photo tools including Scene Decomposition. Core editing remains free; Canva AI Studio requires a Canva premium plan. [S9][S10]

Catch-up: OpenAI releases GPT-6 Sol and Luna for work and API use OpenAI’s September 22 release brings GPT-6 Sol and Luna to the API and to ChatGPT Work and Codex, separately from Chat. Work/Codex options depend on plan and workspace settings. Standard API input/output prices per million tokens are $2/$10 for Sol and $0.10/$0.50 for Luna, for prompts up to 272K input tokens. [S11][S12]

Catch-up: MorFiC transfers robot walking skills, within body-shape limits A September 21 University of Maryland report describes MorFiC, which transfers a walking policy to other four-legged robots without retraining. Researchers report real Go1 and Go2 tests, but weak transfer to dissimilar B1 and ANYmal bodies. The underlying preprint began in March and was revised in August; these are not independently reproduced results. [S7][S8]

The full briefing

Context & implications

01 / Creativity & Media

Catch-up: Runway brings generation and restyling into DaVinci Resolve

Editorial paper collage: ai meets the edit.
AI Daywire · AI-assisted editorial illustration

quick update

Runway says its new Resolve panel can generate images and video, restyle an existing shot and import the result into the Media Pool and timeline. This September 23 release is catch-up coverage. [S1]

The plugin costs nothing to download on macOS or Windows. Using it requires DaVinci Resolve Studio 19 or later, while generation requires a paid Runway plan and consumes existing credits. We have not tested the integration. [S1]

02 / Tools & Applications

Google Photos expands wardrobe access across Android and iOS

Editorial paper collage: your digital wardrobe.
AI Daywire · AI-assisted editorial illustration

quick update

Google Photos wardrobe builds a digital clothing catalog from your photos, with virtual styling and try-on. Google now lists availability for all eligible Android and iOS users in the US, India and Brazil; Germany is outside that stated rollout. [S2]

The same September 24 announcement describes selecting, brightening and sharing photos with a prompt in Gemini Spark. That feature has different eligibility: Google AI Pro or Ultra subscribers in the US. These are Google’s product descriptions, not hands-on test results. [S2]

03 / Business & Infrastructure

Ando announces a workspace for people and agents, with access by waitlist

Editorial paper collage: a shared agent workspace.
AI Daywire · AI-assisted editorial illustration

news

Ando’s issuer announcement names Accel, Index Ventures and Emergence Capital in a $20 million funding round. Its product pitch is a shared messaging environment where people and agents participate in channels, threads and live conversations called Jams, rather than passing work through private chats. [S3][S4]

Ando says it supports agents from different providers and already has teams using the platform. Its public website nevertheless offers a waitlist, so the launch announcement should not be read as unrestricted access. The feature and adoption descriptions are company claims. [S3][S4]

04 / Tools & Applications

Guide: check the limits before letting Gemini call a business

Editorial paper collage: let ai make the call.
AI Daywire · AI-assisted editorial illustration

guide

Documentation-based; not hands-on tested. Google’s current guide limits this gradual rollout to US users aged 18+, a Pixel 11 with US SIM, English device language, Google AI subscription, latest Gemini app and Phone by Google public beta. [S5]

Review the task and shared details before starting. Calls use your number and mobile network, with carrier rates and an AI/recording disclosure. You can monitor a transcript or take over. Only US numbers are supported; emergency calls and financial transactions are excluded. [S5]

05 / Creativity & Media

Catch-up: Gemini 3.8 TTS adds voice direction, with regional replication limits

Editorial paper collage: more expressive ai voices.
AI Daywire · AI-assisted editorial illustration

quick update

Google announced Gemini 3.8 Flash TTS for character-voice design and Flash-Lite TTS for higher-volume audio production on September 23. Both support line-by-line performance direction, according to Google. [S6]

The announcement starts their Gemini API and AI Studio rollout while keeping enterprise API access and voice remixing as forthcoming. Voice replication through AI Studio is unavailable in Illinois, Texas, the EEA, UK, Switzerland and India. We have not tested voice quality or replication. [S6]

06 / Creativity & Media

Catch-up: Affinity adds scripting, a Claude connector and AI photo tools

Editorial paper collage: a more connected canvas.
AI Daywire · AI-assisted editorial illustration

quick update

Affinity’s September 15 release lets users write and run scripts within the app across photo, vector and page-layout work. The company says its Claude connector can turn a described process into a reusable script. [S9][S10]

AI additions include Scene Decomposition for reworking flattened images. Affinity distinguishes its free core tools from Canva AI Studio, which requires a Canva premium plan. This catch-up reports the vendor’s release; we have not tested the automation or established separate Claude subscription requirements. [S9][S10]

07 / Models & Agents

Catch-up: OpenAI releases GPT-6 Sol and Luna for work and API use

Editorial paper collage: two new model options.
AI Daywire · AI-assisted editorial illustration

quick update

OpenAI’s September 22 API changelog lists GPT-6 Sol and Luna as reasoning models accepting text and images and returning text through Responses and Chat Completions. Its ChatGPT notes place the models in Work and Codex, separately from Chat, with options depending on plan and workspace settings. [S11][S12]

For prompts up to 272K input tokens, standard API prices per million input/cached-input/output tokens are $2/$0.20/$10 for Sol and $0.10/$0.01/$0.50 for Luna. Longer prompts, cache writes and other processing tiers have separate pricing. These are listed rates, not a measured cost comparison. [S11][S12]

08 / Science & Research

Catch-up: MorFiC transfers robot walking skills, within body-shape limits

Editorial paper collage: one policy, different robots.
AI Daywire · AI-assisted editorial illustration

news

The University of Maryland’s September 21 report highlights MorFiC, a method that gives a reinforcement-learning critic information about the robot’s body. The researchers describe transferring a policy to real Unitree Go1 and Go2 robots without fine-tuning. [S7][S8]

Transfer remains limited by physical similarity: the paper reports failure to obtain useful locomotion on more distant B1 and ANYmal designs. Its current scope is quadrupeds, not humanoids. The preprint was submitted March 15 and revised August 24; this is catch-up on the university report, not a newly released September paper or independent replication. [S7][S8]

Source notes

Primary documents, company announcements and research are identified below. A company claim is not an independent test.

  1. [S1] Runway is Now in DaVinci Resolve
    Runway · 23 September 2026 · vendor-announcement
  2. [S2] 5 Google Photos updates to make the most of summer memories
    Google · 24 September 2026 · vendor-announcement
  3. [S3] Ando Launches Agent-Native Messaging Platform, Announces $20 Million Seed
    Ando via GlobeNewswire · 24 September 2026 · issuer-press-release
  4. [S4] The modern team messaging platform
    Ando · Publication date not stated · official-product-page
  5. [S5] Ask Gemini to handle your everyday phone calls
    Google · Publication date not stated · official-documentation
  6. [S6] Gemini 3.8 text-to-speech says hello
    Google · 23 September 2026 · vendor-announcement
  7. [S7] One Robot, Many Bodies: New System Helps Four-Legged Robots Adapt
    University of Maryland · 21 September 2026 · university-research-report
  8. [S8] MorFiC: Fixing Value Miscalibration for Zero-Shot Quadruped Transfer
    Mishra et al. / arXiv · 24 August 2026 · research-preprint
  9. [S9] What's New in Affinity: Blend Tool, Scripting, and over 60 updates
    Affinity · 15 September 2026 · vendor-announcement
  10. [S10] More time for your craft: From Scripting to AI automation with Claude
    Affinity · 15 September 2026 · vendor-announcement
  11. [S11] OpenAI API Changelog — September 22, 2026
    OpenAI · 22 September 2026 · official-release-notes
  12. [S12] ChatGPT Release Notes — September 22, 2026
    OpenAI · 22 September 2026 · official-release-notes

Published Fri, 25 Sep 2026 12:43:10 GMT · Updated Sat, 26 Sep 2026 09:30:43 GMT · Version 2

AI-generated reporting and AI source checking. No human review or independent product testing is implied. Editorial policy

Corrections

— Added explicit archive topic tags to all eight stories, including the practical-guide label. Article text, sources and thumbnails are unchanged.

Report a correction →